Paramore: The Final Riot! (2009) [Blu-ray]

Genre(s): Music
Summit Entertainment || NR - 70 minutes - $34.99 || March 21, 2009
Reviewer: Tyler Thomas || Posted On: 2009-03-11

Buy this DVD from!
.:: F I L M ::.
The Film

.: F E A T U R E S :.

Special Features

.:: V I D E O ::.

.:: A U D I O ::.

B L U - R A Y

Blu-ray Exclusives

.:: O V E R A L L ::.
Director: Brandon Chesbro, Michael Thelin
Writer(s): NA
Cast: NA

Supplemental Material:
  • 2 Music Videos
  • Featurette

Technical Information:
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Widescreen (1.78)
  • English (Dolby TrueHD 5.1)
  • Subtitles: NA

Comment on this and other movies on the message board!

.::THE FILM::.

Alright, it’s time to be perfectly honest. I’m a huge Paramore fan. Ever since I heard “Misery Business” roughly two years ago, I thought it was one of the best songs on the radio at the time. I always knew they would be big at some point in their future, and after two radio hits that crossed over from alternative to the pop charts, they made it pretty large in the music industry. The Blu-Ray release of their live concert is nothing short of a masterpiece to fans of their music and even those who haven’t heard of them yet.

The band plays a variety of songs from their past two albums, Riot! And All We Know Is Falling, and kicks off the concert with “Born For This.” Lead singer and incredibly gorgeous Halely talks with the crowd normally before each song and asks the usual questions like are they having fun, and interacts with them quite well. As the concert progresses, the energy level from both the fans and the band obviously picks up and makes it a great experience.

Following a few non-radio hits, Paramore progresses into “CrushCrushCrush,” a song which was released to alternative radio a while back and the crowd gets going with it (they do with every song, but this one seemed to pump them up a lot). The great music continues with stuff off of both albums such as “Decoy,” “Pressure,” and “For A Pessimist, I’m Pretty Optimistic.” At one point in the concert Halely mentions about the group that portions of the purchase of a certain sweatshirt go to and to help educate others about the sex slavery trade that is going on in the world today. It’s great to know artists are taking a stand against these sorts of things, and I’m glad it made it onto the Blu-Ray.

The best part of the concert comes from the ending of it, in which the band thanks everyone and leaves the stage, and if you look at the track list, you’ll see that they didn’t play one song (which is arguably their biggest hit to date) “Misery Business.” The band plays a few chords from the song and walks back on stage to a huge ovation and continues with the song and closes out the show with it.

I think that Paramore is an amazingly talented band and I wish the best for them in 2009 and beyond. They truly have a ton of talent compared to the other bands that are out there right now.

Here is the set list for those wondering:

1. Born For This
2. That’s What You Get
3. Here We Go Again
4. Fences
5. CrushCrushCrush
6. Let The Flames Begin
7. When It Rains
8. My Heart
9. Decoy
10. Pressure
11. For A Pessimist, I’m Pretty Optimistic
12. We Are Broken
13. Emergency
14. Hallelujah
15. Misery Business

Noteworthy Songs – Decoy, Pressure, Hallelujah, Misery Business


“Decode” Music Video from Twilight (4 minutes): Another great song from the band that was featured in the blockbuster hit Twilight from late 2008.

“I Caught Myself” Audio from Twilight (4 minutes): Paramore truly is a talented band, and this is a phenomenal song from them. The audio plays over a background from the concert.

40 Days of Riot (40 minutes): An incredibly lengthy documentary about the band’s backstage antics and moments before going on stage their feelings and such. It’s really entertaining and interesting, so if you’re a fan of the band then this is a great special feature.


Filmed live in Chicago, Illinois late last year, the concert looks pristine and colorful to say the least. Colors are bright and vibrant (when there are some, it’s a rather emo and gloomy concert for the most part), and contrast isn’t an issue for the entire seventy minute runtime. There were no scratches, artifacts, or anything of that nature that plagued the video. There was also fairly little grain, and even the little there was didn’t hurt the picture at all. This is now the concert to beat in 2009 for best picture quality.

The audio side of things I felt a bit underwhelmed. Compared to past concert Blu-Ray’s, I expected a lot more surround usage that didn’t happen. Music was mainly pumped loudly from the front speakers and the rears were saved mainly for crowd noise. Granted, it’s not a disappointment in any sense of the word, as though this is a loud Dolby TrueHD 5.1 track, but it’s not as loud as it should be. Dialogue however is crisp and clear and there wasn’t any point where it was hard to distinguish what was being said. This is still a phenomenal track, but I think a little more could have been done with surround usage.


I’ve been a huge fan of Paramore since they burst onto the mainstream scene a year or so ago. This Blu-Ray is of top quality for fans and newcomers alike. The exclusives for this are great, the audio and video are also amazing, and it’s a live concert featuring Paramore, you can’t get much better than that now can you? I strongly recommend this as a purchase, and even if you aren’t a fan of theirs, it’s time to start.